The Southwestern Surgical Congress

The Southwestern Surgical Congress is an organization that promotes the advancement of General Surgery by representing the interests of academic, community and rural surgeons, surgical residents and medical students through education, advocacy, research and innovation. The goal of the Congress is to promote excellence in patient care and professional development.

SWSC 2018-2019 Executive Committee:

President                                            Courtney Scaife

President Elect                                  S. Rob Todd

Vice President                                   Shanu Kothari

Treasurer                                           Walt Biffl

Recorder                                            Sharmila Dissanaike

Immediate Past President              Daniel Margulies

Past President                                  Clay Cothren Burlew

Social Media Policy
The SWSC guidelines are adopted to ensure a uniform treatment of social media activities, by individuals, institutions and/or organizations. Posting photos of slides, speakers and podiums are permitted by the SWSC. Unless speakers state their wishes to not allow after disclosures, depending on their intellectual property interests.

SWSC social media abides by professional, straightforward and appropriate communication. SWSC will not tolerate discrimination (including age, sex, race, color, creed, religion, ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender identity, national origin, citizenship, disability, or marital status or any other legally recognized protected basis under federal, state, or local laws, regulations or ordinances).